top of page

The Tap Scholar Award Audition

Founded in 1995 to honor the life of CHRP co-founder, Kelly "Ikaika" Michaels, the Rhythm World Tap Scholar Award program has provided summer, immersion experiences to more than 300 talented, deserving young dancers from around Chicago, the United States and international exchange through $350,000 in financial aid.

Live Auditions February 25th, 1-3pm – Virtual Auditions due April 22nd


The Tap Scholar Award program conducts an audition in Chicago every Winter or Spring where two-thirds of awards are made. Additional scholarships are awarded through partners in Japan, Brazil, Canada, the European Union and the United States. The Award decisions are based on a combination of criteria including skill, talent, potential and financial need with the intention of creating a diverse mix of young dancers dedicated to furthering their tap and percussive dance education every summer at Chicago's International Festival of American tap – RHYTHM WORLD.

This year's Rhythm World Festival will take place July 12 - 21 and features an amazing array of virtuoso teaching and performing artists.

Rhythm World is the oldest, largest and most comprehensive festival of American tap in the world, annually attracting hundreds of students from around the globe to study with an internationally acclaimed faculty of master teachers and performers. Since the inception of the Tap Scholar Award program, many multi-year, winners, including Jumaane Taylor, Ian Berg, Starinah Dixon, Nico Rubio, Sean Kaminski, and Donnetta Jackson, have gone on to successful careers in teaching, choreographing and performing.

To register for the Tap Scholar Audition, please fill out the sign up form above.

Scholar Application

Tap Scholars 2015-2019

Roxanne King    2015
Elizabeth Carroll    2015
Alexis Stevenson    2015
Sarah Huskey    2015
Kharaan Abraham    2015
Tyler Booker    2015, 2016, 2017, 2018
Molly Sute    2015
Gabriel Cortez    2015
Taiga Nagai    2015
Vivian Shimizu    2015
Brianna Carmichael    2015
Molly Favreau    2015
Frances Fay    2015
Tanzania Covington    2015, 2018
Ivy Anderson    2016, 2017, 2018
Audrey Bartley    2016
Noah Brewington    2016
Jasmyn Bush    2016
Jordyn Bush    2016
Andrew Carr    2016, 2017, 2019
Skyy Echoles    2016
Kelsey Fields    2016
Alexandrya Fryson    2016, 2017, 2018
Haley Grier    2016
Reese Hafner    2016
Haley Hampton    2016
Savannah Martin    2016
Kristin Meyer    2016
Emily Monsrud    2016
Clark Rulon    2016, 2017
Emily Voogd    2016
Antonio Welsch    2016
Isabella Welsch    2016
Alex Miller    2017
Antonio Houston    2017
Melanie Smeltzer    2017, 2018
Nathan Graff    2017
Mia Murphy    2017
Kazuma Tanizawa    2017
Miu Nakagawa    2017
Aoshi Ichimura    2017
Moa Imai    2017
Sofia Alonso    2017
Caleb Jackson    2018, 2019
Aryonna Grier    2018, 2019
Enrica Uhlen    2018
Ja Kayla Harris    2018, 2019
Kennedy Coleman    2018
Zayvion Rubio    2018, 2019
Maliah Keaton    2019

What Our Students Say

“If it wasn’t for the scholarship, I would not have been able to attend last year. I was one of the youngest in my classes. I had to really challenge myself, and I’m happy to say I held my own. I enjoyed performing at the Jazz Club and the JUBA! Festival. I even participated in the cutting contest, which was out of my comfort zone, but it was fun and I’d do it again.”

- Aryonna C. Grier

Tap Scholar Alumni
(partial list)

bottom of page